My New Favorite Hair Tool

I went to an all girls school before college so most of us spent Monday-Friday in the hairstyle I would later learn (in the real world) is preserved for girls at clubs after 2 am – essentially where you just throw your hair on top of your head and call it a bun. Being born with naturally thick and curly locks, I was always enamored with those with tame, beachy waves or pin straight hair. Yes, I understand that my hair can accomplish a lot of different looks, whereas it’s harder to make curls stick for someone who doesn’t have it, but you know what else my hair can do? Grow three inches (vertically) at the sign of moisture, randomly decide ‘I’m done being straight’ in the middle of a night out after you’ve spent an hour blow drying and 45 minutes flat ironing or go beyond tangled into full on matted after a casual day at the beach.

Needless to say, I’m always looking for ways to manage my hair. I’ve tried what seems like millions of products and tools and although most of the time I feel like they’re not very effective, every once and a while I find something that really helps. I recently heard about some special combs sold on rickysnyc.com that are infused with things like Argan Oil (also known as Moroccan Oil – a treatment that swears to add shine and de-frizz) and Keratin (a smoother). They gradually release the products into your hair while combing and because the combs are under $12 and the brushes under $25, I decided it was worth a try.

I decided to start with the No-Frizz Pocket Comb ($7) and the ArganPlus Shaper ($9). These little guys are actually baked with oils that apply essential ingredients t0 deflect bacteria and add shine without looking greasy, all while smoothing out fly-aways. The packaging says they can be used on either wet or dry hair, but for the best results, use it after you straighten, blow-dry (with a diffuser for curly girls) or air dry. I’ve been keeping the pocket comb in my purse, using it to touch up mid-day and use the argan comb after I style/dry my hair in the morning and have honestly noticed a difference. My curls are more defined and my hair actually feels stronger/healthier. I’m loving these right now and can’t believe they supposedly last for a year – check out the different styles and shapes here and here.

*Rickys re-stocks often, but if the one you want is sold out, they can also be purchased on Amazon.com, just type “RickyCare” into the search bar

Other combs/brushes I’ve been wanting to try:

Goody Quik Style Paddle Brush from Target (photo taken from website) $11.99

Goody Quik Style Detangling Shower Comb from Target (photo taken from website) $5.29

*use both of these products in the shower after you condition your hair

Braun Satin Ion Brush from Amazon.com (photo taken from website) $42.99

Tangle Teezer Detangling Brush from Amazon.com (photo taken from website) $9.75

Boar Round Brush for blow-drying from Sephora (photo taken from website) $29

Philip B Hairbrush Cleaner from skinstore.com (photo taken from website) $15

One thought on “My New Favorite Hair Tool

  1. Pingback: Faux Glow | ear-marked

Leave a Reply

