What to Wear When Nothing Else is Working

Living in California, I’m lucky to experience great weather throughout the year, but because I live by the beach, the ocean breeze usually causes a bit of a chill.  There have been many mornings where I wake up freezing and find myself elsewhere in Los Angeles, hours later, completely regretting my long sleeved wardrobe choices.  I’m also out for the whole day a lot and when the sun sets, the temperature drops significantly.

My solution to this is very commonly one of my favorite staples in my closet – maxi dresses.  They are pretty effortless when you find the right shapes and easily layered with jewelry, a jean jacket or a sweater.  You can also throw a tunic or crop top over a basic maxi to get a different look.  It’s a great way to look put together while on the go and a safe bet for a variety of occasions due to their combination of style and comfort.  I’m tall, so length is not usually a problem for me, but if you find them too long, know that many knit styles can be cut to your desired length or you can obviously consult with a tailor.

A while ago, I purchased a dress from Michelle Jonas (great travel/beach collection).  Never in my life have I had something that makes me feel good every time I wear it.   The best part about this dress is that it is incredibly flattering to almost anyone’s body.  I’m serious.  I call it the Sisterhood of the Traveling Dress because any of my friends can borrow it and look fantastic.  The straps are adjustable and can be tied tight, making it more supportive than you’d think.  It’s called the Keyhole Dress $235 (I got it in black, but you can get a variety of colors and tie dye options).  You should definitely own this.

  

Other Maxi Dresses I’d love for Spring/Summer:

Monrow T Back Racer Dress from Shopbop $76 photo taken from website

Winter Kate Printed Silk Maxi Dress from Asos $572.64

Volcom Printed Dress from Bloomingdales $59.50 photo taken from website

Sunahara Red Maxi Dress from Planet Blue $150 photo taken from website

Blu Moon Rose Maxi Dress from The Trend Boutique $209 photo taken from website

Pencey Standard Tee Dress from Piperlime $110 photo taken from website

A.L.C. Printed Maxi Dress from Les Nouvelles $795 photo taken from website

C & C California Colorblock Dress from Shopbop $98 photo taken from website

Oonagh by Nanette Lepore Dress from Bloomingdales $348 photo taken from website

Eternal Sunshine Creation Aztec Dress from Planet Blue $264 photo taken from website

Wildfox Indian Brave Dress from The Trend Boutique $149.99 photo taken from website

C&C California Multi-Stripe Dress from Piperlime $98 photo taken from website

Madison Marcus Button Down Dress from Shopbop $258 photo taken from website

Blu Moon U Back Leopard Dress from The Trend Boutique $199 photo taken from website

   

Free People Sweet Caroline Maxi Dress from Piperlime $98 photo taken from website

Diane von Furstenberg Naira Dress from Shopbop $598 photo taken from website

Winter Kate Floral Dress from The Trend Boutique $239 photo taken from website

Velvet by Graham & Spencer Racerback Maxi Dress from Bloomingdales $108 photo taken from website

Sass & Bide Hi-Low Dress from Shopbop $450 photo taken from website

Backstage Short Sleeve Maxi Dress from Planet Blue $132 photo taken from website

Blue Life Hipster Dress from The Trend Boutique $120 photo taken from website

  

For Love & Lemons Bewitched Dress from The Trend Boutique $169 photo taken from website

Leave a Reply

