Bathing Suits

Shopping for bathing suits can often times bring back an innate feeling of sheer terror coupled with an inexplicable reaction that sends me straight to bed and into the fetal position.  In those times, I’m reminded of my first sixth grade mixer (I went to an all girls school, so this was our first interaction with boys – well, at least a whole group of them).  I walked into the room, confident, in floral printed jeans and a tight white tube top, hair slicked back with a massive amount of gel (I was very self conscious of my frizz at this point and had not yet found my best friend, the straightener), feeling goooood.

The first thing I remember seeing was the wall.  On the other side of the room.  BECAUSE I WAS SEEING OVER EVERYONE’S HEAD.  Literally every single person in there (including most teacher’s) were inches shorter than me.  I spent the night hunched over, dancing in some sort of weird, distorted position that I’m pretty sure would later contribute to lower back problems… not to mention that experience scarred me so much that most of the pictures I have with a group of friends show me with a deep bend in my knees and head cocked in order to seem like “just one of the girls”.

Needless to say, I learned quick (well, more like after years and years of doing my best to conform) that to look your best, you have to dress, walk, live by YOUR body.  There is nothing worse than a person who tries to wear something “because it looked so good on that girl”… believe me, I’ve tried.

Flattering bathing suits are perhaps one of the trickiest to find because, let’s face it, they’re tight and little.  For me, I’ve found shopping for them are best with a spray tan and alone.  I love my girlfriends, but there’s nothing worse than bringing along a size 2 parading around in her brazilian cut bikini saying “but my thighs are just so out of proportion with my little body”.  Everyone has their issues, but don’t concern yourself with anyone’s but your own while standing in front of a mirror half naked.

Bathing suits I’m loving right now:

Victoria’s Secret Belle Bandeau Top $24 and Bottoms $18

*I have this and love it.  It comes with a strap for more support and you can mix and match prints/solids.

Tyler Rose Top $93 and Bottoms $89

Vix Logo Bikini Top $88 and Bottoms $88

Thayer Halter One Piece $209

French Connection Grecian Bikini Top $45.23 and Bottoms $45.23

Tori Praver Malis Bikini Top $99 and Bottoms $93

Mikoh Galapagos One Piece $194

Heidi Klein Bow Bikini Top $168 and Bottoms $136

Zinke Bustier Bikini Top $99 and Bottoms $66

Lisa Marie Fernandez The Farrah Maillot $395

Vitamin A’s Ballerina Sliding Triangle Top $80 and Bottoms $77

Seafolly Gingham Bow Bandeau Top $99.15 and Bottoms $69.58

Indah Crochet Bikini Top $102

OndadeMar Twist Bikini Top $100 and Bottoms $88

Victoria’s Secret Push-Up Bandeau Top $28 and Bottoms $18

Alloy Underwire Bandeau Top $15.90 and Bottoms $11.90

ONE by Down the Garden Path one Piece $165

L*Space Sliding Triangle Top $84 and Bottoms $84

6 Shore Road Dot Bikini Top $68 and Bottoms $64

Herve Leger Sporty Bikini $490

Kushcush Lauren One Piece $159

Alloy Goddess Bandeau $19.90 and Bottoms $19.90

Norma Kamali Halter Bikini Top $175

Tigerlily Shebari One Piece $154

L*Space Dolly Bandeau Bikini Top $73

TIPS FOR BUYING BATHING SUITS:

-when buying online, I like to purchase from websites that are returnable

-get to know the shapes and colors that flatter your body (color is an underrated important factor)

-try them on feeling good, whether that is with a fake tan, after you exercise or even after a cocktail (but not too many cocktails because that leads to tears – trust me)

-under no circumstances should you buy a bathing suit that will “look good on you after your boot camp classes”, buy suits that look good on you NOW

-purchase a great pair of black bottoms so you can mix and match tops… maximizes the money you spend so you get tops that actually fit

Leave a Reply

