I’ll Only Go Curly With This From Now On…

Everyone knows I have a love/hate relationship with my curls.  I’ve spent hours, weeks, months, and what seems like years in front of a mirror on the verge of tears, dripping in sweat, with burning hot hair tools in my hand trying to straighten my natural curly locks.  I’ll really know I’ve made it when I can afford to have it done in the mornings (#dreamworld) and not have to tame what is comparable to a wild beast.

There are days, however, that a good air dry and comb through leaves me with a head of curls that aren’t so unmanageable and I decide to bare the outdoors as my natural self… well, at least from the scalp up.  I’ve tried almost every product and some definitely help.  I love Morroconoil Frizz Control ($32) and use it almost every day before I comb my hair after getting out of the shower.

I recently picked up a bottle of Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray ($4.79), which has a lot of mixed reviews around the web, but it’s cheap, so I thought I would give it a try (and full disclosure – I was $5 away from getting free shipping with an online order).  What I was looking for was a product I could use on my dry hair the day after I wear it curly.  I don’t think I’ve ever been lucky enough to score two good curly hair days in a row.

The thing is, I understand why people don’t like this.  The complaints are mostly that it leaves hair dry and “dirty feeling”.  This is a texturizing spray and is supposed to make your hair look like you’ve spent all day at the beach.  It gives you that unkempt, effortless look, which I happen to really like – it also smells like vacation, so I’m willing to overlook the downfalls.  I suggest starting with a modest amount and layering on if you feel you need it, but also (if you’re trying to create waves/more defined curls) spraying it on and twisting sections around with your fingers to get better definition.  It will feel a little dry, but only because the product contains a lot of salt, which holds the waves in.

Leave a Reply

